And This Is Exactly Why Alterations Cost So Much

Today (well, technically yesterday) I sat on the floor of the shop for two hours and hemmed a skirt.

My mum was in dire need of some food and sleep, so she left the shop for me to tend to while she went home. Before she left, however, she asked me for, and I quote, a “teensy little favor”. Don’t get me wrong, hemming isn’t a difficult thing to do, but honestly- hemming tulle should be in a whole different category. Usually you can get away with folding the fabric, laying it on the floor, and snipping away, but this material refused to conform out of its wild mess. Even better was how easily the scissors  got caught between the tiny holes throughout the tulle. There I was, thinking this would maybe take me half an hour, when I realized, half an hour later, that I wasn’t even finished the first layer. This endeavor definitely tops my list of tedious things done within the month.

 

One thought on “And This Is Exactly Why Alterations Cost So Much

Leave a Reply

