Renovations: Part One

For those of you who don’t know, Ellebay Bridal Boutique will be relocating to the shop next door! This is a super exciting time for us, and I’ll be sure to keep you all updated 🙂

At first, I was SUPER against us moving next door. Why? A couple of reasons which I will lay our in point form:
1) It’s HUGE. My plan is to be extremely selective with what we have in stock, meaning I want there to be no more than 20 different dress styles. That being the case, we really don’t need the extra space.
2) It’s too expensive. Obviously with the increase in surface area comes an increase in our monthly rent. Lemme tell you, a shop this size in Downtown New West ain’t cheap.
3) The renovations would be extensive. Saying that the new store location was in bad shape is a gross understatement. It smelled bad, the walls were wooden planks poorly put together, the lighting was terrible, the windows were broken, and the list goes on and on.

Why have I changed my mind, though? Allow me to tell you a story…

A few weeks ago, I was with our contractor looking through the space. While inspecting the terrible dry wall, I noticed through one of the cracks that it was only an inch thick. Curious, I searched for a bigger opening, finding this around one of the plug outlets. I got on my knees and peered inside. To my surprise, I saw a bit of brick underneath. I told this to our contractor, and he cut a bigger hole in. Low and behold, more brick. So, he cut a bigger hole and we soon discovered that there was a beautiful brick wall underneath the drywall, brick that had been hidden for over a decade. And yes, I do realize the excess of fragmented sentences in my story.

It’s still going to be a lot of work renovating it, but having that brick wall gives it such a good feel and AMAZING potential. I can’t wait to finish it!

– Gabrielle Bayona

Leave a Reply

