The Lace Dress #2

Just as day one was cut short due to a colour change in our lining, day two’s dress making endeavour finished because we felt the lace was too white. On the up side, you all get to see a riveting post regarding my experience with dying fabric in tea!

Yesterday when I walked into the shop, I was greeted by this! Doing as my mum does best, she put everything together just as I arrived in the shop that morning.

Crinoline… Lining… Lace!

And so begins the difficult part. We wanted the fit to be perfect, so my mum cut, pinned, and shaped the lace right on my body.

When my mum cut off the remaining lace, the dress felt so much lighter! I’m really happy we decided against sleeves, as having straps is much more comfortable and cool.

The back is gorgeous, hey? After a significant amount of tugging, pinning, and cutting, we got it to sit perfectly. And when I say perfect, I really mean it. Just don’t slouch (as you shouldn’t on your wedding day!).

To ensure both sides would be even, we had to use the lace my mum shaped as a pattern for the other side’s lace. This was more challenging than I thought it would be, as they looked like one piece when they’re on top of each other! I was so paranoid that I would accidentally cut both at the same time, hahaha. Needless to say, I let out a big sigh of relief when the cutting was finished.

Stay tuned for my post about fabric dying!
– Gabrielle Bayona

 

Leave a Reply

