The “Hong” Dress: Part One

Hey all, long time no talk!

Before I begin, I’d like to take a moment to thank you. After a long day spent scrambling to finish a homework assignment I should have started way earlier, I was shocked and amazed to see the amount of blog views received on January 4th. There were 1731 page views, with over a thousand of those being unique. Wow. Though I may stumble from time to time, I’ll never forget all the blessings this past year has given me. Thank you, a million times over 🙂

Now, on to the meat of this post…

Not too long ago, I held a contest on Ellebay’s facebook page which encouraged people to post photos of their dream gown. It was a simple concept: basically whichever submission my mum and I liked the most would get made. A lovely gal named Hong submitted this particular stunner:

SO gorgeous, hey? The gown isn’t too shabby either 😉

Before I get started with the blog posts regarding this particular project, I’d just like to write out a bit of a disclaimer (bear with me). The version we intend to make will be inspired by Mila Kunis’ dress, not an exact copy. First, stealing another person’s design is just not a cool thing to do. Second, if we intend to sell this in our boutique, we need to keep the price realistic. The likelihood of Elie Saab using the best laces, fabrics, and techniques available is quite high, and this fact is directly related to the five-figure price of the designer gown. Ellebay doesn’t skim on the quality of construction, but we will try our hardest to make the gown match the price we intend to sell this at.

Wheff! I’ve been writing really wordy blog posts recently! I’ll keep the remainder of this post short and sweet 😛

Stay tuned for the next blog post!

– Gaby Bayona

3 thoughts on “The “Hong” Dress: Part One

Leave a Reply

