It’s Been A While

I went through a bit of disappearing act, didn’t I? Apologies to all those who check back consistently and for those subscribed, I simply didn’t have time to blog! With grad season officially over as of last week, Merly and I can breathe – finally. Every season we learn and become stronger people, and this year was certainly no exception. The title says it all – things are indeed about to get a bit more exciting. No more crying over broken thread for us.

I would be rambling on here for ages if I attempted to update you on all that’s been going on since I last chatted on here, so instead I’ll share a few photos snapped on instagram. Enjoy!

We get most of our basic supplies (thread, zippers, needles) from a place off Main Street, but upon suggestion by a fellow seamstress I ventured out to “Can Sew” located in the Venables area. This was snapped the first time (just last week!) I went there… supplies galore!

Towards the end of grad season our iron started sparking … meaning it was probably time to get a new one. This industrial iron with a 9 gallon tank cost $1500. Ouch.

No, this isn’t a dream – this is actually the current status of the Ellebay basement. Anybody who has ever gone to our lower floor wouldn’t recognize this. A lot of cleaning and a few knocked down walls later, and there’s finally order to the madness.

Made two new cutting tables! DIY is the best.

A photo from today. I want to play with beads and stones when designing/making Ellebay’s new collection.

This was taken literally 5 minutes ago. A little teaser for a dress that we’re making. New design? You’ll have to check back to find out!

– Gaby Bayona

Leave a Reply

