The Red & Gold Dress // 1

And so it begins!

Those who followed this blog last year know that I always drape what I want to create on a mannequin before I start the cutting process, but this time I want to try something a bit different. I know what foundation I want to use, and want to let it fall into place organically. This could be a good idea or a bad idea. Wish me luck!

Me, measuring up the proper amount of material needed to make a skirt.

Fabric chalk is my kinda chalk.

Ironing on interfacing to our Tahari Satin. Though time consuming (especially to get such a big piece properly aligned!), it’s totally worth it because it makes the bodice pieces more sturdy.

Using our “Carina” bodice pattern as a base. This pattern’s definitely my favourite in fittings because it almost always fits just right when the gal tries it on for the first time.

We’ll put it together tomorrow for a first fitting. Stay tuned!

– Gaby Bayona

Leave a Reply

