COURAGE TO CHANGE: One day at a time

Today I choose to place my trust to God, knowing that all is well.

CHAPTER FOUR:

How often I look outside myself for approval! The project at work is successful, but my good feelings depend on having that success acknowledged. The meal I fix at home is not as tasty when no one complements the cook. I resent the favours I do for my children when they neglect to thank me.

We all need an occasional pat on the back. But when the applause of others becomes the reasons for my behaviour and necessary for me to feel satisfied, then I have given them power over me. People may forget to notice the terrific  things that I have done or may not be comfortable  praising me. I don’t have to take it personally. Self-pity and resentment are not my only options. If I can learn to evaluate my own actions and behaviour  and to value my own judgement, then the approval of others will be enjoyable, but no longer essential to my serenity.

TODAY’S REMINDER;

Just for today, you will appreciate yourself. you will not look to  others for approval; You will provide it to yourself. Allow yourself to recognize that you are doing the best you can. Today your best is good enough.

“YOUR VISION WILL BECOME CLEAR ONLY WHEN YOU CAN LOOK INTO YOUR OWN HEART”

CHAPTER FIVE:

I suspect that if I reclaimed all the minutes, hours, and days I’ve sacrificed to worry and fear, I’d add years to my life. When I succumb to worry, I open a Pandora’s box of terrifying pictures, paranoid  voices, and relentless self-criticism. The more attention I pay to this mental static, the more I lost my foothold in reality. Then nothing useful can be accomplished.

To break the cycle of worry and fear, I’m learning to focus all my attention on this very moment. I can turn away from destructive thoughts and concentrate instead on the sights and sounds around me: light and shadows, the earth beneath my feet, the pulse of every living—- all pieces of the here-and -now. These bits of reality help rescue me from “what-if’s” and “should have’s” by anchoring me in the present. Prayer and meditation, the slogans, and phone calls to family and friends and other sources of serenity that bring me back to this moment. As I shut out the noise, I am more receptive to my High Power’s will, and therefore more able to work my way through difficult times.

TODAY’S REMINDER

This day is all you have to work with, and it is all you need. If you are tempted to worry about tomorrow’s concerns, you will gently bring your mind back to today.

” THE PAST HAS FLOWN AWAY. THE COMING MONTH AND YEAR DO NOT EXIST.OUR’S ONLY IS THE PRESENT’S TINY POINT.”

I hope and pray that Our God in heaven gives us strength  and energy to whatever it is we’re fighting for.

Next post our first new collection for ellebay’s 2014. 🙂 Stay tune  ’til next time!!!

One thought on “COURAGE TO CHANGE: One day at a time

Leave a Reply

