COURAGE TO CHANGE! One day at a time

CHAPTER SEVEN :                                                                                                           There was a time when, if a thought entered my mind, it automatically  came out of my mouth. Even if I wasn’t sure that what I was saying was true,the words poured out of me. I have to learn to “think” first before I speak.

When I’m tempted to respond to angry accusations with accusations of my own, I stop and “think”. When I have an urge to betray a confidence, to gossip,or to tell something extremely personal to a total stranger, I stop and “think.”  And when my opinion about another person’s business has not been requested, I take time to “think” before I get involved. That way I make a conscious choice about how I will respond.

Perhaps I will decide to say nothing, or choose  to a more tactful way to proceed, or question whether  I really mean what I have been thinking. I may decide that this is not an appropriate place to discuss what is on my mind. Or I may choose to go right ahead and speak up in a very direct manner. Regardless of which option I select, today I am willing to accept the consequences of my actions because I have taken the time to make a choice.

TODAY’S REMINDER

Today let your words serve your best interests.  Choose them with care.

“I DON’T LET MY MOUTH SAY NOTHIN’ MY HEAD CAN’T STAND.”

Leave a Reply

