COURAGE TO CHANGE: One day at a time.

Chapter nine:

Anyone who watched my interactions with the alcoholics in my life probably would have consider me as the crazy one. I was the one who searched from bar to bar, made scenes in public places, and got hysterical over little things. I was also the one who agonized over the alcoholic’s behaviour, lied, cursed people, made apologies and excuses, and resented everything I was doing. Was this sane?

The Christian group I was involved in, was the first place where I ever thought to question my own sanity. I found that I couldn’t overcome the effects of this disease  by force of will or reason. As they say, my best thinking got me here. They encourage me to find a personal understanding of God, and to allow others the same freedom. And that God could restore me to sanity.

I knew that I felt more rational in this meeting than I did at any other time, and so I turned for the Power that seemed to flow through those meetings. From time to time I still have my irrational moments, but I no longer blame my erratic behaviour on anyone else. I now know exactly where to turn when I am ready to find sanity once more.

TODAY’S REMINDER

Today, focus on your own behaviour. If it could stand some improvement, just ask a Power greater than yourself for help.

“IF WE DO NOT CHANGE OUR DIRECTION, WE ARE LIKELY TO END UP WHERE WE ARE HEADED”.

Take care and thanks for reading everyone! 🙂       Merly Bayona

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

