COURAGE TO CHANGE one day at a time

CHAPTER SEVENTEEN:

Before, I could never tell the difference between what was and what was not my business. I felt I had to take care of everyone around me until I couldn’t stand it any more. I usually kept things up until I became physically ill. My body tried to tell me to pay attention to my own needs, but I wasn’t ready to listen.

My best friend helps me to ” learn and listen” from my body, my soul, and my health. How do I do it? I try to check in with myself on a regular basis. Am I hungry, angry, lonely, or tired? If so, I can make a point of stopping what I’m doing long enough to attend to my needs.

When I pay attention to the messages I’m being given, I have a better chance of detaching from other people and situations, should that be appropriate. For me, this is the foundation of serenity.

TODAY’S REMINDER

Do not wait any longer until your health, your financial situation, or your emotional state collapses before paying attention to your needs. Today you can practice becoming more aware of what your inner voice is trying to teach you. You can “listen and  learn.”

don’t listen to friends when the friend inside you says’ do this”.

CHAPTER EIGHTEEN:

Today I seek to become a little more accepting to myself, a little more comfortable in my own skin. Although it is important to recognize and admit my limitations and flaws, only God can remove them.

Condemning my imperfections has never enhanced my appreciation of life and helped me to love myself more. Perhaps I can let go of all condemnation for this one day. I will recognize that I am on a spiritual path of self-improvement. Every tiny step I take on that path moves me closer to wholeness, health, and serenity.

If I become impatient with myself, I can examine my expectations. I will take time today to acknowledge my efforts and to trust the process of my healing.

TODAY’S REMINDER

God is gentle and kind. Remember to be gentle to yourself today. Trust Him that the healing will come today.

TODAY I CAN ACCEPT MYSELF FOR WHAT I AM BECAUSE I KNOW THAT WHATEVER HAPPENED, IT HAPPENS FOR A REASON. I HAVE GOD AND A GROUP OF PEOPLE WHO LOVE ME ANYWAY.

Leave a Reply

