COURAGE

images-31th-39I‘ve always been fascinated by courage. When I hear of someone showing courage instead of cowardice, I find myself saying, “That’s what I want to be like”.I wish I had more courage. I do not want to be debilitated  by fear or paralyzed by anxiety. I do not want to cave in under difficult circumstances and compromise my conviction or giving up on difficult challenges. I do not want to be a coward; I want to be courageous. This is  a Biblical wish, for in 2 Timothy 1:7 Paul says, “GOD DID NOT GIVE US A SPIRIT OF TIMIDITY BUT A SPIRIT OF POWER”282330_327069824039382_935261672_n

Courage in the ordinary. I regret the fact that we usually hear about courage only when someone does some extreme act of heroism that attracts media attention – carrying an old woman out of the burning building, or diving into an icy pond to save a drowning child, or risking gunfire while dragging a budding to safety. I love these stories, but they seems bigger than life. Dramatic, once-in-a-life-time opportunities never seems to happen to ordinary folk like you and me. But the older I get, the more I understand that it takes a great deal of courage to face life’s ordinary, everyday challenges.

Every single day we make choices that show whether we are courageous or cowardly. We choose between the right thing and the convenient thing, sticking to a conviction or caving in for the sake of comfort, greed or approval. We choose either to take a carefully thought-out risk or to crawl into a shrinking shell of safety, security and inactively. We choose either to believe in God and trust Him, even though we do not always understand His ways, or to a second-guess Him and cower in corners of doubt fear. These choices come our way everyday, rapid fire. We face them so frequently that we forgot that we are even making them, and we sometimes find ourselves going with a flow instead of carefully making courageous choices.1383460_10151645371591744_1952453607_n

HE IS THE KING OF KINGS AND LORD OF LORDS

images-32DO YOU BELIEVE AND ACCEPT HIM AS YOUR PERSONAL LORD AND SAVIOUR? NOW IS THE TIME TO GET RIGHT TO GOD. MY FRIENDS, DO NOT DELAY.

Until next time! : )                   Merly Bayona

Leave a Reply

